Posted by: norstarnewengland | September 12, 2009

Moving

From mid May to the beginning of August, I have been buying and moving into a new house. This is a new experience for me, since I have been renting all this time before. Now, I get to join in the joys of owning a house as I mow, do other yard work, and look for things that will need to be done both in the near and far future. Just thinking about it makes me tired!

Taken on the visit just after signing the mountain of papers during the Closing.

Taken on the visit just after signing the mountain of papers during the Closing.

The only real needs were that it had to be in good overall shape and not need major work (none of us are trained ‘handymen’), and it be close to work or accessible to the train. This house met those requirements with flying colors. Very few minuses to the house, though there are things that the inspector noted that have to be looked into fairly soon.

Before moving in, three rugs had to be replaced due to strong dog smells emenating from them. Three rooms were painted, as well, since two rooms just had a so-so paint job (a coral color was coming through the powder blue) and the third room had a pepto-bismo color with a red rug (had to be the girls room). They look and smell much better now!

The next adventure was mowing the lawn. The neighbor next door had been kind to use his riding mower a couple times, then I attempted to use a mower borrowed from another neighbor – it stalled many times, making it a bit frustrating. So, I now have my own – an electric. The cord is a pain, but workable – I just have to be aware of where it is (not cut yet!).

There was radon detected, and a mitigation system was put in – working fine so far. The basement additionally has some water leaks, as field basements often do. So far, the area hasn’t had significant rain to see where the water is coming from. The only puddles that were seen were traced back to the dehumidifier – if the tank is not set in there properly, the dehumidfier will keep running even when the tank is full.

That about sums it up.  This was written during the previous move!

That about sums it up. This was written during the previous move!

Moving is just a huge pain. Packing is one of the worst tasks, followed by unpacking. Moving day came, and even after staying up pretty much all night, I still wasn’t ready. It’s done, now, and I can take the time to put things in their proper place. It will take a while as I continue to try to find places for my stuff. I’m thinking of George Carlin’s skit on that, now.

Categories

