Posted by: norstarnewengland | June 25, 2009

Blue Hill Weather Observatory Open House – Milton-Canton, MA

I volunteer at the Blue Hill Observatory (BHO) at the top of the hill, and on May 16th, I helped at the Open House they had. BHO is where the oldest continuous weather record in one place is being kept (and still being added to).

Blue Hill Tower and Flag

Blue Hill Tower and Flag

It is also the home of the Women In Natural Science (WINS) program, which gets girls in roughly the middle and high school grades interested in geology, meteorology, etc. The open house had many things going on, including lectures, tours of the building, and various kids activities like making their own kites. One of my wanderings led me to one of the families trying to fly a kite bought at the center. While I was able to help some, I enlisted the help of a real kite flier to fix the strings. The wind, at the time, however, was very still and it took effort to get any kites in the air. Later, the wind picked up and kept kites up.

Kite Fliers on the hill

Kite Fliers on the hill

I started in one area, but I later ended up floating around, then settling at the top of the observatory tower being the informer pointing to visible landmarks. At first, the skies were good; however, in the early afternoon, a fog bank advanced from Boston Harbor and swallowed up the Boston skyline. It came as close as the center of Milton before receding back.

Fog bank enveloping Boston

Fog bank enveloping Boston

The clouds became thicker as a storm was slowing approaching. By the late afternoon, a warm calm day became much rawer.

Clouds over Blue Hill

Clouds over Blue Hill

By this time, however, the open house was done and everything was put away. The rain finally came after midnight. Next time, I might bring my own kite.

Radar display at about 4:00 pm that day.

Radar display at about 4:00 pm that day.

Categories

