Posted by: norstarnewengland | April 28, 2009

Waymark Visits

This is another, and likely last look at the 500 waymarks posted.  In waymarking.com, in addition to posting waymarks of interesting places according to categories, people can go to a location and post a visit according to the category rules (usually a photo or other way of identification).   It’s fun to get a ‘postcard’ from someone who stopped by.  I did a study of the visits made to my waymarks.  I present some stats here:

Total Waymarks posted (04-2009):  500

Total visits I have made to other Waymarks:  153

Total waymark posts visted by other people:  121

Total visit posts (there could be more than one visit to a waymark): 183

Highest number of visits in any one waymark:  7 (Safeco Field, Seattle, WA).

Top 12 visits in my waymarks:

Safeco Field, Seattle, WA:   7

Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Seattle, WA: 6

New Orleans and Crescent City Bridge, New Orleans, LA:  6

Paul Revere – Famous Rider and Inventor, Boston, MA:  5

South Station, Boston, MA:  4

Welcome to Pilgrim Memorial State Park, Plymouth, MA:  4

Boston Subway, Boston, MA:  4

Boston Common, Boston, MA:  4

The Burying Plot, Salem, MA: 3

Boston & Maine 410, Lowell, MA: 3

Creating, Arlington, TX:  3

Park Plaza Hotel, Boston, MA:  3

One of my goals this year is to increase my visits to other waymarks.  They are out there, but it requires time to prepare, and I have been putting more time in posting.  This will change.  I’m expecting to travel in the next couple months, so I’ll have opportunities then.

After this study, a marathon runner had posted visits to sites in Boston and along the marathon route.  Would that be considered a ‘run by’ waymark visit?

Categories

