Posted by: norstarnewengland | April 1, 2009

An Important Change

I have been very busy in the last couple months.  I hope to use this relative lull in activity to blog what has been happening.  In short, I went on a trip to Louisiana, attended two star parties, waymarked/benchmarked/geocached, took an American history course, and presented at a seminar on a history subject.  I hope to report on these in the next few weeks.  Things have been changing around me, such as my work situation, as well as having friends unemployed or underemployed in the present economy (no further reporting of that here).

However, I can’t pass up on reporting perhaps the most important change that is about to happen in my life.

Diamond Engagement Ring

Diamond Engagement Ring

I’m engaged.  The question [it wasn’t quite the on bended knee moment, but I’m finding out how rare that actually is] was asked [and without hesitation answered] at Squantum Point in Quincy, Massachusetts, where the Neponset River meets the Atlantic [a brackish version of it, perhaps].  There was quite a headwind at the point, and we were huddled on the concrete form.  We then drove down to Rhode Island to her parents and then up to my parents in Massachusetts to my parents.  Both sets are very pleased.

The diamond was selected and the completed ring was picked up on Saturday.  At first I was going to give it to her that night, but, since we decided to go to Dairy Queen for dessert, I decided that it wasn’t the time.  The next night, Sunday, however, we went to a Chinese Restaurant, and, arranged to have it delivered to the table.  It arrived among a ring of fortune cookies.

However, it didn’t take a diamond to have the word spread literally across the continent (and in at least one case, back).  Perhaps people need good news in these poor economic times.  I’m overwhelmed by the reaction (all good).  I’m a little anxious on planning the wedding details, where to live, and all that which goes with this.  But with those all around who would lend support, I know that we’ll make it through.

Categories

