Posted by: norstarnewengland | February 28, 2009

Happy Birthday, Abraham (and Charles)

This month, it was Abraham Lincoln’s 200th birthday.  I marked the occasion similarly to Edgar Allan Poe.  There is a statue a block south of the intersection of Boylston Street and Charles Avenue.  The link to the waymark is here:

http://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WM2P90

It’s a bit sad that we are in a cycle where we seem to be pulling down our heroes.  I’ve had a couple conversations where Lincoln had been criticized for being a far worse abrogator of human rights than the administration that just ended.  I just have not studied Lincoln’s term in that detail (I have a biography written by Vidal Gore that I just haven’t been able to get to).  However, circumstances were different – for one, he was in Washington, DC, which was surrounded by hostile forces on all sides.  Also, during his administration, the Emancipation Amendments were passed.  If I take the next class in American History, which covers the Civil War, I’ll be sure to take a closer look at what he really was.

Charles Darwin was also born 200 years ago, on the same day as Abraham Lincoln.  I know of no statues in Boston, so I couldn’t honor him similarly.

Categories

